top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Woods

Nine Princes in Amber (Amber Chronicles, #1) – Roger Zelazny

Source: Goodreads

A man wakes up in a hospital, sure he is in danger, but unsure of just about anything else. After escaping, he makes his way to the one place where he might find some answers, and ends up unraveling his past – which is decades longer than he imagined – and starts a daring adventure that could lead him to some interesting discoveries about his future.

After more than a year of insisting I was about to start this 10-book arc, I’ve finally finished the first one! My mother read these books growing up and has always raved about them, but it’s actually quite hard to discuss them without any spoilers! The books themselves are short – 100-200 pages – but rich is description and plot, and fascinating in concept. Oberon, the former lord of Amber, the one true city, has disappeared, and his many children are at odds about who should take the throne. Corwin, one of 15 sons of Amber, has been missing for almost a millennium, but even memory loss and near-death experiences cannot prevent him from going after what he believes should be his.

I loved where this story went, and seems to be going, and the character development is absolutely stunning and yet subtle: I felt that I knew them and then realized we as readers had been fed breadcrumbs along the way to make it that way. This was in large part due to Corwin acting in certain ways and then making discoveries about himself and his personality and actions previously. It’s a rather novel way of writing, and I can’t wait to jump into the next book and see what awaits our main character. I’m not even sure if he is a hero or is destined to be the villain. Only time can tell.

HHC Rating: 4 Stars

Other Reviews in this Series: Book 2 – The Guns of Avalon (Review Available June 25th) Book 3 – Sign of the Unicorn (Review Available July 16th) Book 4 – The Hand of Oberon (Review Available August 6th) Book 5 – The Courts of Chaos (Review Available August 27th) Book 6 – Trumps of Doom (Review Available September 17th) Book 7 – Blood of Amber (Review Available October 8th) Book 8 – Sign of Chaos (Review Available October 29th) Book 9 – Knight of Shadows (Review Available November 19th) Book 10 – Prince of Chaos (Review Available December 10th)

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page